Red Dead Redemption 2

File information

Last updated

Original upload

Created by


Uploaded by


Virus scan

Safe to use

Tags for this mod

About this mod

This mod allows you to set default Dead Eye Rank for your entire gameplay and to change Dead Eye Rank at any point in the game.

Permissions and credits
Overview of Dead Eye Ranks:

There are 5 Dead Eye Ranks, unlocked at specific points in the game:

  • Rank 1: During the Chapter 1: Mission "Old Friends". It allows Automatic tagging of enemies when highlighted.
  • Rank 2: During the Chapter 2: Mission "Pouring Forth Oil IV". It allows manual tagging.
  • Rank 3: During the Chapter 4: Mission "Banking, The Old American Art." It allows continuous fire if target is not tagged.
  • Rank 4: During the Chapter 5: Mission "Fleeting Joy". Fatal areas are highlighted.
  • Rank 5: During the Chapter 6: Mission "Goodbye, Dear Friend." Critical areas are highlighted.


This mod allows you to change Dead Eye Rank at any point (even in missions and replays). There are cheat codes for changing Dead Eye Rank, but those cannot be activated during missions, and by using cheat codes saving is disabled.

New in 1.5: 

DeadEyeMaster.ini configuration file with following options:

  • With option SetRank you can set a Dead Eye Rank that this mod will hold throughout your gameplay (regardless of loads, replays or mission specific Dead Eye Changes). Values 0-5. If you want game default Dead Eye Rank, put 0. If you put SetRank=5 you fill have Dead Eye Rank 5 at all times without need of any manual intervention in the game.
  • You can Enable/Disable Notifications of manual Dead Eye Rank changes by changing Notifications to true/false
  • You can Disable keys for manual Rank changes during gameplay by setting DisableRankChange to true. This option disables below keys for manual Rank changes.
  • You can change default keys for manual changing Dead Eye Rank.


  1. Install Script Hook RDR2 by Alexander Blade
  3. Download DeadEyeMaster
  4. Unpack the zip
    Copy DeadEyeMaster.asi to the main game folder
    Default Path for Rockstar Launcher: C:\Program Files\Rockstar Games\Red Dead Redemption 2\
    Default Path for Steam: C:\Program Files (x86)\Steam\SteamApps\common\Red Dead Redemption 2\

How to use:

When in game:

If you put SetRank=1-5 in DeadEyeMaster.ini file and don't want to change rank, just play the game with set rank.

For manual rank changes (default keys, you can change those keys in DeadEyeMaster.ini):

For Rank 1: Press F7 + Numpad1
For Rank 2: Press F7 + Numpad2
For Rank 3: Press F7 + Numpad3
For Rank 4: Press F7 + Numpad4
For Rank 5: Press F7 + Numpad5
If you want to switch to game default Rank press END.

You can change ranks as much as you want. Rank you enabled through this mod isn't persistent across saves.