We've been working on some new features.

True Armor classifies each piece of armor as belonging to one of 15 distinct groups. These groups closely relate to the major armor types found in vanilla Skyrim. Armor sets introduced by DLCs and those added by mods do not have their own groups, but are instead sorted into the most fitting category.

Support for armors added by mods:
Any armor with properly assigned "official" keywords will be recognized and classified as you would expect. If no armor material keyword is assigned there is a fallback case, but it may not be sorted optimally then. I will not create patches or add specific support for such armors and mods. That is up to the respective author, or even the user as you only need to add keywords and that's it. The only exception from this rule is Immersive Armors: It does not use vanilla keywords, but support for it is built in due to its immense popularity.

The 15 groups of armor are:

  • Cloth
  • Hide
  • Leather
  • Scale
  • Iron
  • Steel
  • Steel Plate
  • Dwarven
  • Elven
  • Orcish
  • Glass
  • Ebony
  • Daedric
  • Dragonscale
  • Dragonplate

Non-Obvious Classifications:
  • Naked -> Cloth
  • Armors without keywords -> Cloth
  • Armors without vanilla material type keyword, but with light armor keyword -> Elven
  • Armors without vanilla material type keyword, but with heavy armor keyword -> Steel
  • Guard armor -> Scale
  • General Tullius armor -> Steel
  • Penitus armor -> Leather
  • Light and Heavy Dawnguard armors -> Scale
  • Light and Heavy Chitin armors -> Iron
  • Nordic Carved armor -> Steel
  • Ancient Falmer armor -> Elven
  • Nightingale -> Elven
  • Heavy and Hardened Falmer armors -> Orcish
  • Bonemold armor -> Orcish
  • Light and Heavy Stahlrim armor -> Glass

Article information

Added on

Edited on

Written by